Answers...

to commonly asked questions.

photos

Photos permissions may cause sync to phone to fail

Photos not completing the iPhone sync via iTunes after a data transfer to a new hard drive.
____________
The issue could be related to permissions. Quit both iTunes and Photos then hold down the option+command keys and re-open Photos. You'll be prompted to repair the library.
Screen Shot 2017-01-16 at 11.52.20 PM
Try after that process is complete, give that a try.

iCloud Photo Library not updating

My iCloud photo library doesn't seem to be completing the upload sync.
_______________


I've had several clients complain that their iCloud photo library is not updating completely. This seems to occur with very large libraries. It can be frustrating as we have no control over forcing the pics to update. The best strategy I've found is to first make sure your upload speed is very strong on your network by having your computer close to your router or even better, directly connected via ethernet. Secondly, sign out of your iCloud account on all devices. Then resign back in and re-enable iCloud photo library syncing in either Photos preferences or System preferences iCloud preference pane. You can then go back to Photos and in preferences and check to see if the progress has started back on the upload once again.

iCloud Photo library not syncing

After we turned on iCloud photo library my photos still have not moved over to my computer.
___________


Be sure you have the Photos application open on both your iMac and your laptop and leave them open. This is the main reason pics don't seem to be moving. If you close, no uploading takes place.  You can go to Photos preferences to make sure progress is being made.  Select “iCloud” in Photos preferences.  If you don’t see progress being made you can always uncheck “iCloud photo library” and recheck it.  That’s about all we can do. Apple doesn't provide any way to physically initiate the upload other than that.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 8.10.48 PM

How do I delete pictures in iCloud Photo Library?

Using Photos and iCloud Photo Library…

1. If I delete a photo on any device, does that delete it everywhere?
2. If I want to delete something forever, which device do I delete it on?
___________


1. Yes.
2. Any device will accomplish the deletion. However, the photo will go in the "Recently Deleted Items" folder where it will live for 40 days before being permanently deleted. If you want to speed up the process you can also manually empty that folder as well.

Is Photos upload slowing down my internet?

Hey
Weird things R happening now. Internet almost unusable at our house. Can I slow that downloading to iCloud down so we still have usable Internet?


___________

Uploading over 200 gigs of pictures takes lots of time as we discussed and can use a lot of internet bandwidth while the process completes. This is caused because upload is not as large as download ability. Sort of like trying to push an elephant through a straw. If you'd like to pause your uploading process, you can go into Photos preferences and select "pause for one day". The upload will resume the next day when the computer is open again and Photos is open. You could also simply close your computer. This will also halt the upload process.

My guess however, is that these actions will have no bearing on your internet speed. More likely is that your internet is slow for it's on reasons concerning your provider rather than Photos taking up lots of bandwidth. Remember, the internet is a two way street. Upload and download. Photos is only uploading. So if you were watching a Netflix movie for instance, you'd only be using Download. The two have little impact on each other.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 12.56.06 PM

Important step when moving your Photos library to an external drive

Scotty, I followed instructions in on moving my photo library to an external drive but when I opened Photos w options button down and chose the media/photoliabrary, I got this message..... What is the next step?

IMG_7564

___________

This message is triggered when a person tries to turn on iCloud photo library but they have 2 libraries on their machine. In your case, now one in then internal drive and (the same one) living on an external "media" drive. iCloud can only designate one Photos library per machine to sync with its iCloud photo library function. No problem here.

I suggest choosing "Delete Incomplete Items" then after your Photos library is up, go to preferences for Photos and under general select "Use as system library".


There may have been some pictures that were corrupt and the computer couldn't process them. After this is complete and you have a backup of both your internal hard drive and the new external media drive then you can delete the internal hard drive's Photos library therefore reclaiming the 400+ gigs of space.

Lightroom backup

Scotty, I don't think my computer is working right - the pop up menu for missing sync for blackberry keeps popping up - it has done it twice since I started this message to you - also, my computer keeps shutting down!  What do I do???

----


Sounds like you may need to go into the missing sync preferences then turn off automatic syncing.  I am betting that syncing via bluetooth combined with autosync is making the message appear so frequently. 

As far as the computer shutting down, that is definately not normal.  Give me more details.  Going to sleep or completely shutting down?


Photoshop alternative Gimp

Scott,

I am trying to get live audio streaming and it says I need Windows Media Player.  How do I do this and what version of OS do I have?

Thanks,


Very common problem. You need to get the free plug in that now offers the ability for quicktime to convert windows media player files on the fly. It’s called flip4mac and it’s available here.

Telestream Download Flip4Mac WMV

also available directly from Microsoft here:
Download details: Windows Media® Components for QuickTime

You don’t need to purchase. The free version does all you need.
By the way, it’s recently been purchased by Telestream. Doesn’t make a difference. Just a side note.
This image is a theme.plist hack