Answers...

to commonly asked questions.

MacOS

Updated to High Seirra. Can I go back?

I upgraded my computer to High Sierra and it has brought its brought it to its knees. It run excruciatingly slow and is not efficient. We’ve researched and believe it need to be reformatted to the previous operating system. Is this something you can do if we drop it off and leave it with you?

___________

Yes I could do that but we’d need to discuss the consequences first. You can’t restore a time machine backup made with a newer OS to an older OS. This would mean if you are hoping to get your data back to it’s old state via a Time Machine restore, it will take some witchcraft by me and I still can’t promise that everything would open. There could be some casualties. store email not in the cloud being one. I may still be able to recover even that but just saying it’s not pretty.

If however, you are just looking to factory restore the computer to a previous OS then yes, that’s easy and can be done overnight.

There is another thing to consider. I often encounter hard drives dying as the OS is updated. Drives tend to die after a very big write. OS’s tend to do that if the drive was already on it’s way out. If the drive is a Solid State drive, ignore this comment. You can send me your computer’s specs (model) and I can tell you what you have. Available under the black Apple in the top left corner, then choose “about this mac”.

Let me know if you have additional questions. happy to pick up if you are in the Charlotte area. When you are ready, you can schedule a pickup/dropoff via the scheduling link below.

Can I go from Snow Leopard to El Capitan?

Can I go from 10.6.8 to 10.11?
___________

Yes. Apple allows a jump that large but you can't jump from 10.6 to 10.12 or higher. Also, 10. does have to be completely up to date first as well. (10.6.8) However, if you've not previously downloaded 10.11 from the App Store, Apple doesn't make older operating systems available. Still possible. You just have to obtain a copy of the prior operating system.
https://support.apple.com/kb/sp728?locale=en_US

Can't delete a user in High Sierra

Scotty,

I migrated an old user after I accidentally created a new user with the same name when I bought a new mac. Now I can't delete the other user. It's greyed out in the Users & Groups.
___________

I've seen this issue now several times. A couple of ways to solve this. Wipe the drive and start the migration over again or swap the GeneratedUID. This is not something for you to do if you are not 100% confident in your abilities. Make a backup and proceed with extreme caution:

  1. Go to Directory Utility
  2. Enable Root
  3. In Directory Editor, search for the user to be deleted.
  4. Copy the UID to a textedit doc then change the UID by one number
  5. Save
  6. Search for the currently logged in user (the user to be kept)
  7. copy the UID for this user into the text doc just to be safe.
  8. now replace it with the first UID number.
  9. Open terminal and run `diskutil apfs updatePreboot disk1a1`
  10. Restart and log in as the remaining user. Pray.

Original credit goes to Ambrose Little over at medium.com

Where's my powermanagement plist file?

Scotty,

Where did my powermanagement plist go? It's no longer in the system configuration folder.
___________


Correct. Ever since Sierra and later it looks like Apple has moved some plist files around. You can now find the power management.plist file just outside of the system configuration folder. in Library/Preferences. In addition, the boot.plist and CaptivenetworkSupport folder are also no longer disposable. They are protected by the OS. I don't think even Root can toss them. Here's a great article listing all the current locations of important plist files. Another great article here on what happens (and doesn't happen) when plist files are modified.

Where did my share menu items go?

Scotty after updating my computer, some options are missing from my share menu like twitter or mail. How can I get them back?
____________


Open terminal.

Copy and paste the following command:

/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -seed

Hit return. It may take a few minutes but eventually the command should finish.

Restart your computer (optional) then go to system preferences/Extentions. Enable whatever you feel you need.
This image is a theme.plist hack